Sponsored By

TelcoTV: The Vision AwardsTelcoTV: The Vision Awards

The show's first awards program honoring telco innovation was celebrated Wednesday in Anaheim

Phil Harvey

November 13, 2008

ANAHEIM, Calif. -- TelcoTV 2008 -- The TelcoTV show debuted its own industry awards program this year, the TelcoTV Vision Awards, and the winners in the contest's six categories were announced here in a ceremony Wednesday afternoon. Check out the lucky recipients:

The Prize!

The awards intend to recognize the most compelling new products, applications, or services in the following categories: Broadband Access Networks, Conditional Access, Customer Premises Equipment, Middleware, Encoding, and Service Provider Innovation. The specific products and a list of finalists in each category can be found here. The judges' bios and the awards criteria can be found here.

The judges panel -- Bernardin Arnason, Managing Partner, Pivot Group , and Chairman, TelcoTV 2008; Joseph Braue, SVP and Group Director, Light Reading; Steve Fravel, Video Services Manager, NTCA - The Rural Broadband Association ; Keith Galitz, President, Canby Telcom ; Aditya Kishore, Senior Analyst, Heavy Reading; Kevin McGuire, VP Business & Technology, NTCA; and David Osborn, General Manager, Valley Telephone Cooperative Inc. -- combed through 65 categories and, after deliberation, awarded gongs to the following companies in the following categories:

  • Broadband Access Networks: Calix Inc. (NYSE: CALX)

    • Conditional Access: SecureMedia Inc.

      • Customer Premises Equipment: Amino Communications Ltd.

        • Middleware: Ericsson AB (Nasdaq: ERIC)

          • Encoding: Envivio Inc. (NASDAQ: ENVI)

            Amino also took home a special award -- Best in Show -- which it won by being the overall favorite of the judges when compared to the set of seven awards winners. "Size does matter: It's great to be small," said Amino CEO Andrew Burke, when accepting the CPE category award. We assume he's talking about his company's minimalist (yet stylish) set-top box.

            All photos in the slideshow with this story by Gilles Mingasson/Getty Images.

            — Phil Harvey, Editor, Light Reading

            The Prize!Winner: Service Provider InnovationBEK Communications' Derrick Bulawa (L) with Light Reading's Joe BraueEnter, Stage RightLight Reading Group Director Joe Braue introduces the winners of the TelcoTV Vision Awards.Winner: Conditional AccessSecureMediaWinner: EncodingEnvivio's Ian LockeWinner: Broadband Access NetworksCalix Networks' Geoff BurkeWinner: MiddlewareEricsson's Magnus FriskWinner: Customer Premises Equipment & Best In ShowAmino Communications' Andrew BurkeWinner: Service Provider InnovationAT&T

About the Author(s)

Phil Harvey

Editor-in-Chief, Light Reading

Phil Harvey is the Editor-in-Chief of Light Reading. He (barely) manages editorial operations and news coverage for the Light Reading network's digital properties, including Light Reading, The 5G Exchange, Connecting Africa, Telecoms.com and Broadband World News.

Phil rejoined Light Reading in 2018; he's been a member of the LR editorial staff for a combined 15 years. In between stints at Light Reading, he was the news editor at CRN and, before that, the communications director at Metaswitch Networks. During the late 90s, Phil covered networking and telecom in Silicon Valley as a staff writer at Upside (R.I.P.) and (the original) Red Herring magazine.

If you have a breaking news tip, a good podcast guest suggestion, or a three-ingredient cocktail recipe, please get in touch.

Email: [email protected]

Mobile: (202) 649-0373

Signal: (817) 734-6035

Subscribe and receive the latest news from the industry.
Join 62,000+ members. Yes it's completely free.

You May Also Like