The Leading Lights in 2011

3:20 PM -- Light Reading is pleased to announce the return of the communication industry's top awards program, the Leading Lights Awards. This year's awards will be presented at a special presentation on Nov. 8 in New York City following the first day of our Ethernet Expo Americas event.

For complete details on the Leading Lights Awards, including entry forms, go to our contest page.

The categories
The award categories for 2011 include Best New Product (Cable), Best New Product (Mobile), Best New Product (Telecom), Best New Service or Application (Cable), Best New Service or Application (Mobile), Best New Service or Application (Telecom), Company of the Year (Private), Company of the Year (Public), and Best Deal Maker.

Last year there were 65 finalists, and the category winners included products and services from companies such as Finisar Corp. (Nasdaq: FNSR), Juniper Networks Inc. (NYSE: JNPR), Openet Telecom Ltd. and Telia Company . (See Light Reading's 2010 Leading Lights Finalists and LR Names 2010 Leading Lights Winners.)

Don't hassle the HoF
Our Light Reading Hall of Fame returns this year, where we'll again recognize five executives -- the famous and the infamous -- for their undeniable impact on the next-generation communications industry.

Readers can nominate any executive they'd like for Light Reading's Hall of Fame. Click here to do that now or visit our contest page at your leisure.

The awards program is completely free to enter, but you must first become a member of www.lightreading.com.

Get your entries in early; we'll close the Leading Lights nominations process on Friday, Sept. 2. We'll aim to announce finalists for the Leading Lights during the week of Sept. 18. If you have questions or comments, please ask in the message board below and we'll reply.

Good luck!

— Phil Harvey, Editor-in-Chief, Light Reading

Sign In