Leading Lights Awards 2016 - Open for Business

Was 2015 a standout year for your company? Then you should enter the industry's most prestigious awards program –- it really does have something for everyone!

February 10, 2016

3 Min Read
Leading Lights Awards 2016 - Open for Business

The Leading Lights, Light Reading's prestigious annual awards program, is ready to accept this year's crop of entries, and it's bigger and better than ever!

Now in its 12th year, the awards celebrate the innovation, hard work and business success of the communications industry's leading companies, teams and individuals.

Following a significant expansion in the number of categories during the past few years, we've added just a few new ones for the 2016 program, taking the total number of categories to 27.

The new categories this year are:

  • Most Innovative 5G Strategy: Awarded to the company that has outlined and clearly communicated an innovative, market-leading 5G strategy.

    Outstanding Transformation Strategy (Service Provider): Awarded to the communications service provider that has devised and implemented a transformation strategy of any kind (business, technical, cultural) that will improve its business potential and competitiveness in the coming years.

We're also going to be introducing three Women in Comms (WiC) awards -- Most Inspiring Woman in Comms, Female Tech Pioneer of the Year and Female-Led Startup to Watch -- that will also be presented at the Leading Lights awards ceremony: Look out for more details on those WiC awards soon.

As usual, there are plenty of awards categories for new technology products, innovative services, SDN, NFV, security and IoT strategies, as well as awards celebrating the outstanding vendors in the components, test and measurement and OSS/BSS sectors. And as ever, we will be handing out gongs to the Best Deal Maker and the Best Private and Public Companies of the Year.

You can see the full list of awards categories, details about how to enter and a link to our FAQ document, at the Leading Lights 2016 home page.

The awards are judged by the Light Reading editorial team with help from the Heavy Reading analyst team. The deadline for entries is Friday, March 25, 2016. The shortlists will be announced in late April/early May and the winners announced at an awards dinner in Austin (further details to follow) on Monday, May 23, as a kick off to our Big Communications Event.

To see who picked up the awards last year (and so had even more fun at our lavish awards party in Chicago), see:

Don't forget that we are also looking for nominations for individuals who deserve to be inducted into the Light Reading Hall of Fame, which recognizes those individuals, both the famous and the infamous, who have made a notable contribution to the global communications sector. Among those inducted in previous years are Steve Jobs, Bob Metcalfe, John Chambers, Brian Roberts, Kris Rinne, Martin Cooper, Irwin Jacobs, Larissa Herda, James Crowe, Niklas Zennström, Edward Snowden and Bernie Ebbers. (See Light Reading Hall of Fame 2015.)

So get those awards entries rolling in, and remember -- you've got to be in it to win it!

— Ray Le Maistre, Circle me on Google+ Follow me on TwitterVisit my LinkedIn profile, Editor-in-Chief, Light Reading

Read more about:

Subscribe and receive the latest news from the industry.
Join 62,000+ members. Yes it's completely free.

You May Also Like