& cplSiteName &

DPI Vendors Eye Integration

Craig Matsumoto
11/26/2009

The deep packet inspection (DPI) market is dominated by standalone appliances, but integration fever is going to start spreading soon, according to a recent report.

By now, every major vendor with DPI technology has introduced some kind of integrated platform, analyst Simon Sherrington writes in Heavy Reading's Deep Packet Inspection Market Tracker.

Examples he cites include Alcatel-Lucent (NYSE: ALU), Cisco Systems Inc. (Nasdaq: CSCO), Ericsson AB (Nasdaq: ERIC), Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd. , Juniper Networks Inc. (NYSE: JNPR), and Nokia Networks .

And there's more going on than just packing DPI into a router. "Aside from integration within routers/GGSNs, etc., there is also a trend toward tighter integration of the DPI with subscriber management systems," Sherrington writes.

Even so, sales of integrated DPI represented just less than 2 percent of the market in 2008, the report finds. But by 2014, Sherrington expects integrated sales to account for 32 percent of a $1.17 billion market.

That total represents a compound annual growth rate of 18.7 percent, starting from a market size of $418 million in 2008.

The market for standalone DPI appliances will continue to grow but will have leveled off by 2014, at about $791 million, Sherrington writes.

Vendors in the appliance category include Allot Ltd. (Nasdaq: ALLT) and Arbor Networks , which acquired Ellacoya. (See Arbor & Ellacoya Team Up.) Sandvine Inc. is another appliance vendor, but starting in June 2008, it began teaming up with companies such as Netsweeper Inc. and PeerApp Ltd. to offer pre-integrated packages -- Sandvine's DPI plus PeerApp's peer-to-peer caching applicances, for instance.

(It should be noted that the report goes beyond just DPI to include traffic analyzers that study flows or traffic behavior. Those technologies don't crack open packets the way DPI does, but they're put to the same purpose of managing traffic in real time, particularly when DPI-defeating encryption is involved.)

Growth in the overall DPI market continues to be driven by a need to keep peer-to-peer traffic in check. But service providers are also seeing an increased need for DPI as part of a policy management strategy, as was evidenced in the recent Light Reading virtual tradeshow, Policy Control and Deep Packet Inspection. (See Policy Matters to Mobile Broadband Operators.) That's particularly true in the mobile world, which highlights another point in the Market Tracker report: Mobile operators will account for 49 percent of the DPI market, by revenues, in 2014, compared with 12 percent today.

— Craig Matsumoto, West Coast Editor, Light Reading

(12)  | 
Comment  | 
Print  | 
Newest First  |  Oldest First  |  Threaded View        ADD A COMMENT
Page 1 / 2   >   >>
danp5648
danp5648
12/5/2012 | 3:52:00 PM
re: DPI Vendors Eye Integration


Why did you leave out Procera Networks? Jeff Heynen of infonetics said "As for Procera, I can't believe they were excluded. They are one of the market leaders in the space." Could it be Cisco or some other heavy hitting networking company effecting your judgement $$$ LR? Procera is talked about on Sandvine's last CC http://www.youtube.com/watch?v... and Allt talks about Procera http://www.youtube.com/user/da... on there last CC so there is no way you could just have forgotten them.

DCITDave
DCITDave
12/5/2012 | 3:51:58 PM
re: DPI Vendors Eye Integration
Were they left out of the market tracker or just not mentioned as an example in the news story about the market tracker. I ask because the news story was just meant to make a point, not serve as an exhaustive listing of every vendor in the space. And why didn't Jeff Heynen say so himself? He has a LR user ID. Is he getting shy or just using you as his press agent?
DCITDave
DCITDave
12/5/2012 | 3:51:57 PM
re: DPI Vendors Eye Integration
I'm a huge fan of recycling. So I shall support your Jeff Heynen recycling efforts. Carry on.
danp5648
danp5648
12/5/2012 | 3:51:57 PM
re: DPI Vendors Eye Integration


So you just happen to leave out the fastest growing, largest capacity vendor who in a head to head contest last month or so beat out Cisco by a large margin. In addition  Allot's third quarter 2009 conference call said that the specialist are still ahead of the generalist. Since Procera is always left out I will keep recycling Jeff Heynen response from past LR "reports" and I will continue to do.


heyjeff
heyjeff
12/5/2012 | 3:51:52 PM
re: DPI Vendors Eye Integration


Boy, since I stopped covering the policy space 7 months ago, there's no way I could have made those comments. Besides, there's no way you can ever include every company you are tracking in a detailed report within the limited confines of a press release.

danp5648
danp5648
12/5/2012 | 3:51:50 PM
re: DPI Vendors Eye Integration


With only three, count them three public companies, with two down adding a third I know could cause extreme exhaustion I know. Next time I will understand that you hit your wall at say 2.5 or 2.75. I would like to note that reading in a paper the next day that a member of LR passed on because he hit the number 3 and was in bed just before he died rambling on about  Procera, Procera and then flatlined is not good for anyone.  We all know that the number 3 is a widow maker.


 


Warning exhaustive listing of three can be fatal!

paolo.franzoi
paolo.franzoi
12/5/2012 | 3:51:48 PM
re: DPI Vendors Eye Integration


 


If it is about a public company, it is information that is publicly available so is easy to determine the factual nature of the information.  You might be able to sue him as a shareholder, if you can link this writing to a direct loss in stock value.  Other than that, the company could sue if the information is false.


seven


 

danp5648
danp5648
12/5/2012 | 3:51:48 PM
re: DPI Vendors Eye Integration


Can I sue him?

Scott Moritz wrote of the TheStreet.com:

"This network security software developer loses $2 for every $1 in sales it brings in"

If this number is false, can I sue him?


That is the question?

Larry, Monkey
Larry, Monkey
12/5/2012 | 3:51:48 PM
re: DPI Vendors Eye Integration


Hey, danp5648 (if that's your real name): Get over it!


Tiger has apologized. All's right with the world.


Let's all move on, and put this ugliness behind us.

Stevery
Stevery
12/5/2012 | 3:51:47 PM
re: DPI Vendors Eye Integration



If this number is false, can I sue him?



Hell, you can sue him even if the number is true.  Duh.


Page 1 / 2   >   >>
Featured Video
Upcoming Live Events
November 5, 2019, London, England
November 7, 2019, London, UK
November 14, 2019, Maritim Hotel, Berlin
December 3-5, 2019, Vienna, Austria
December 3, 2019, New York, New York
March 16-18, 2020, Embassy Suites, Denver, Colorado
May 18-20, 2020, Irving Convention Center, Dallas, TX
All Upcoming Live Events