RapidIO Elects Officers

AUSTIN, Texas -- The RapidIO Trade Association's Steering Committee held its annual election of officers during their Face-to-Face meeting in Boston on August 25, 2005, launching another year of strong stewardship of the RapidIO standard by leaders in the embedded industry. Now heading the group as Chair is Dave Wickliff from Lucent Technologies, replacing Dan Bouvier from Freescale Semiconductor. The new Vice-Chair is Peter Olanders from Ericsson, replacing Dave Wickliff. Sam Fuller from AMCC continues as Treasurer, and Gary Robinson from EMC remains as Secretary.

"This is an exciting time for RapidIO technology as we reach critical mass of products on the market, and an exciting time for me to be stepping into my new role as Chair," commented Dave Wickliff, Steering Committee Chair, RapidIO Trade Association. "The Steering Committee, with our new officers and members, is well positioned to direct the future development, maintenance and promotion of RapidIO as the open standard fabric of choice."

The newest member to the steering committee is Wind River with Tomas Evensen filling the seat. Freescale Semiconductor remains on the committee with Greg Shippen as their representative. Other members of the Steering Committee include Craig Lund, Mercury Computer; Duncan Bees, PMC-Sierra; Alan Gatherer, Texas Instruments; and Richard O'Connor, Tundra Semiconductor.

The Steering Committee unanimously approved the appointment of Travis Scheckel from Texas Instruments as the new Chair of the Technical Working Group replacing Greg Shippen who will now serve on the Steering Committee. Bill Beane from Integrated Device Technology continues as the Chair of the Marketing Working Group.

RapidIO Trade Association (RIO)

Be the first to post a comment regarding this story.
Sign In