Leading Lights Awards: It's Now or Never!

There are plenty of industry awards but very few worth winning. A Leading Lights award from Light Reading is definitely worth winning because it's a true reflection of ability, innovation and success and not a reflection of marketing budget size.

But if you want to be in this year's list of victorious companies then don't delay -- there are only days remaining to submit your entries.

The final deadline for entering any of our 24 categories is Friday, April 10, and that really is the absolute not-to-be-extended deadline -- Light Reading's editors, with help from the Heavy Reading analysts, will initiate the judging process the following Monday.

And that judging process is going to be a long one. This year, which marks the 11th time we've run our awards program, we're offering more opportunities than ever to enter and win an award. We have 24 categories that reflect the increasing breadth and depth of the communications industry (we have SDN, NFV, IoT and Gigabit Broadband categories for the first time, for example).

So get your entries in before you miss the chance to become the proud owner of a Leading Light, the most prestigious award available in the industry. It's important to note that only those companies and products that are entered through this official channel can be considered for our shortlists, which will be made public in early May.

You can see the full list (with mini-explanations) of all the categories at the Leading Lights home page, where you can get all the supporting information, link to our FAQs and find the entry forms to fill out.

Here is that list of 24 Leading Lights 2015 categories, just to whet your appetite:

  • Best New Product (Cable)
  • Best New Product (Mobile)
  • Best New Product (Telecom)
  • Most Innovative SMB Service
  • Most Innovative Enterprise Service
  • Most Innovative Wireless Service (3G, 4G, Carrier WiFi)
  • Most Innovative Carrier Cloud Service
  • Most Innovative Ethernet/Optical Service
  • Most Innovative Video Service
  • Most Innovative NFV Deployment Strategy (Network/Data Center Operator) *NEW*
  • Most Innovative NFV Product Strategy (Vendor) *NEW*
  • Most Innovative SDN Deployment Strategy (Network/Data Center Operator) *NEW*
  • Most Innovative SDN Product Strategy (Vendor) *NEW*
  • Most Innovative Security Strategy (Service Provider) *NEW*
  • Most Innovative Security Strategy (Vendor) *NEW*
  • Most Innovative Gigabit Broadband Service *NEW*
  • Most Innovative IoT/M2M Strategy (Service Provider) *NEW*
  • Most Innovative IoT/M2M Strategy (Vendor) *NEW*
  • Outstanding Components Vendor
  • Outstanding Test & Measurement Vendor
  • Outstanding OSS/BSS Vendor
  • Company of the Year (Private)
  • Company of the Year (Public)
  • Best Deal Maker

Who won last year? Among those that picked up awards in 2014 were Cisco Systems Inc. (Nasdaq: CSCO), Ciena Corp. (NYSE: CIEN), Colt Technology Services Group Ltd , EZchip Technologies Ltd. (Nasdaq: EZCH), Infinera Corp. (Nasdaq: INFN), Sprint Corp. (NYSE: S), XO Communications Inc. and more. For the full list of 2014's winners, and to see what happened at the awards dinner/party, check out these articles, videos and slideshows:

And there's more! In addition to those awards categories we also have the annual Hall of Fame, which works in a slightly different way. While the awards can only be won by those who enter, the Hall of Fame is decided upon entirely subjectively by the Light Reading editors, who pick nominees based on their opinions, helped by any suggestions we get through the entry forms. That's because the Hall of Fame recognizes the famous and infamous -- those who have made outstanding contributions to the global communications sector and a few who are the villains of the industry. You can get a sense of the types of people we welcome into the Hall of Fame, and why, by checking out the Light Reading Hall of Fame 2014 inductees.

Get these dates in your calendar now! Light Reading's second Big Telecom Event is taking place on June 9-10 in Chicago. Get yourself registered today or get left behind!

For those that make it to our shortlists, the big date to put in the company calendar is June 8, when we will be hosting this year's gala awards dinner at the Field Museum in Chicago during the evening before The Big Telecom Event (BTE) opens its doors. And that's shaping up to be an industry event that must not be missed...

Good luck with those entries, and more importantly, make sure you get them in before April 10!

— Ray Le Maistre, Circle me on Google+ Follow me on TwitterVisit my LinkedIn profile, Editor-in-Chief, Light Reading

Mitch Wagner 3/30/2015 | 3:03:05 PM
Now or never
[email protected] 3/30/2015 | 2:14:38 PM
NFV and SDN awards.... gonna be interesting! Our SDN and NFV awards categories are shaping up to be VERY interesting, based on early entries...

Certainly on NFV I'm not sure these categories would have seen much action a year ago.
Sign In