Wi-Fi Alliance Expands Certification

Wi-Fi Alliance expands Wi-Fi Protected Access certification program for enterprise and government users

April 14, 2005

1 Min Read

AUSTIN, Texas -- The Wi-Fi Alliance has added four new widely deployed Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) types to its Wi-Fi Protected Access- (WPATM) and WPA2™-Enterprise certification programs. These new EAP types further expand the tested interoperability of Wi-Fi CERTIFIED™ WPA- and WPA2-Enterprise networking products for enterprise and government deployments.

The newly-supported EAP types include EAP-TTLS/MSCHAPv2, PEAPv0/EAP-MSCHAPv2, PEAPv1/EAP-GTC and EAP-SIM, joining the currently tested EAP-TLS. In addition, supplicants and authentication servers from Wi-Fi Alliance member companies Devicescape Software and Meetinghouse join existing products from Funk Software, Inc. and Microsoft Corp. in the test bed for the program.

"The robust security enabled by WPA and WPA2 provides the high level of confidence required in large-scale, enterprise-class deployments," commented Wi-Fi Alliance Managing Director Frank Hanzlik. "Expanded EAP testing is a direct response to the ongoing demand for interoperability across authentication methods, and delivers greatly increased flexibility to enterprise IT managers."

Wi-Fi Alliance

Subscribe and receive the latest news from the industry.
Join 62,000+ members. Yes it's completely free.

You May Also Like