Aruba Gets 802.11i Certified

Aruba's centralized WLAN system is first to receive 802.11i certification from the Wi-Fi Alliance

September 24, 2004

1 Min Read

SAN JOSE, Calif. -- Aruba Wireless Networks (Aruba) todayannounced that it is the first centralized wireless LAN (WLAN) system supplier to obtain 802.11i(Wi-Fi Protected Access 2™) certification from the Wi-Fi Alliance.With this certification, the Aruba WLAN system offers corporate and government customers thehighest level of wireless security available today. The Aruba system delivers security servicesthrough its unique wireless grid architecture – a structured, high-performance approach todeploying mission-critical WLANs.

WPA2 is based on the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers’ (IEEE) 802.11i amendmentto the 802.11 standard, which was ratified on July 29, 2004. WPA2 uses a more advancedencryption technique called the Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) and is backwards compatiblewith WPA™, ensuring that organizations that have already implemented WPA can easily migrate tothe new 802.11i standard.

“Aruba is commended for receiving WPA2 certification for its centralized WLAN switching system.This level of commitment to interoperability and security is a clear commitment to the evolvingneeds of their customers,” commented Frank Hanzlik, Managing Director of the Wi-Fi Alliance.

“Enterprises continue to view security as a key roadblock to the pervasive deployment of Wi-Fi®,”said Merwyn Andrade, chief technology officer for Aruba. “The WPA2™ standard and Aruba’scertification are major milestones for enterprises and government organizations planning to deploywireless. By integrating WPA2 into a centralized WLAN switching system, enterprises can nowconfidently enable mobile access to their existing data-center applications without sacrificingsecurity or performance.”

Aruba Wireless Networks

Wi-Fi Alliance

Subscribe and receive the latest news from the industry.
Join 62,000+ members. Yes it's completely free.

You May Also Like